Jere Melo Foundation
  Newsletter - August 2019 (Click to open)

Nominees, winners and Jere Melo Foundation Board members.

Volunteer Service Nominations
Co-winners of the 2018 Jere Melo Volunteer of the Year award are Mike Beck (second from left in the very back) and Susan Collins (fourth from left in the front), here with other nominees and board members of the Jere Melo Foundation.
Beck was recognized for his tireless work cleaning roadsides all over coastal Mendocino County. Collins was recognized for her work with Native Daughters of the Golden West, Mendocino Coast District Hospital Auxiliary, Gloriana Theater and many other local organizations. Nominees Julie Whipple, Nancy Bennett and Susan Fraser (second, third and fifth from left in the front) were also honored. Nominee Terrie Curti was volunteering at a Cubs football game and couldn't make it. Congratulations and thank you to all.
 We would really like to hear a little about these people.

Jere Melo Foundation Board members talk to the audience about the Foundation and their work.

Youth Awards

Analiese Keaton was named the Jere Melo Foundation Youth Volunteer of the Year at halftime of the Fort Bragg High School Timberwolves football game Friday night. Keaton, along with fellow nominees Athena Anderson, Clay Anderson and Clare Kisliuk, was recognized for her service in many organizations and activities, including Fort Bragg Shoreline Riders, the Mendocino Coast Humane Society, Fort Bragg High soccer, the Teen Peer Court and two years as a member of the Fort Bragg Police Department Cadet program.

Athena Anderson was nominated for her work as a youth sports coach and referee, and work on the Fort Bragg High School student council. She also returned recently from a trip to Miasa, Japan as part of Fort Bragg’s Sister Cities program.

Clay Anderson has also worked as a youth sports coach and referee, received the coaches’ award for his play on the Fort Bragg High School basketball team.

Claire Kisliuk is a member of the Fort Bragg High Interact Club, the Fort Bragg Lions Leos Club and the FBHS track team. She was also winner of the Violet Richardson Award given by Soroptimist International of Fort Bragg for volunteer service.

Guest Speaker Ed Shemelya is the National Coordinator for HIDTA’s National Marijuana Initiative, a position he assumed when he retired after 30 years of service with the Kentucky State Police. Prior to his retirement, he served as the Eastern Region Marijuana Coordinator for the Appalachia HIDTA and was responsible for monitoring marijuana cultivation and related activities within the Appalachia HIDTA

Jere Melo Foundation board members Dick Royat and Heather Morrison; Youth Volunteer of the Year Analiese Keaton; board member John Andersen; Volunteer of the Year nominees Clay Anderson, Athena Anderson and Clare Kisliuk; and board member Linda Royat.

The award commemorates Jere Melo, longtime Fort Bragg forester, city council member, mayor, and leader and contributor to countless community efforts on the Mendocino Coast. He was slain while patrolling forestland east of Fort Bragg in 2011.

“The Jere Melo Foundation Youth Volunteer of the Year award is given to a local volunteer who has gone above and beyond in their efforts to give back to the community, as Jere did for so many decades,” said foundation board member John Andersen.Type your paragraph here.